Kagga Kamma | Guest Reviews
logo

Guest Reviews

Read all about other guests’ experiences at Kagga Kamma.

"We travel not to escape life, but so life doesn't escape us." – Unknown

Blog Features



4 Days in the Life of… Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve {Click Here to read the blog}
You've Earned It {Click Here to read the blog}


  • Kagga Kamma Testimonials
Contact Us at Kagga Kamma

 Yes
To help prevent automated spam,
please check the box to the right.

Guest Reviews 2019

Eloise: – October 2019 (Google)

"Breathtaking and so worth while in many ways. Great staff, entertainment, spa, restaurant and so much more available. Time-share cottages , camping and private cave rooms. Definitely one trip that made beautiful memories."

Fransicka Jobse: – October 2019 (Google)

"Wow! This I will never forget! It is just amazing in Kagga Kamma, words can not describe. They are fully of the grid and do not make use of Eskom. This is a place you can go to and totally switch off of the crazy world we live in. The staff is beyond friendly! The food is super yummy! Kagga Kamma I will see you again!"

neil_houtbay: – October 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"I thought I had seen it all in South Africa, but this venue is breath-taking. It's like visiting a Martian landscape! Except for the lodge, which looks carved out of the rocks. Congratulations to all involved in this project. You've created a unique property here. Good facilities in a problematic landscape. I had no problem with WIFI communication at the lodge (although it won't extend to the rooms). Food was great. And satellite provided World Cup Rugby. "

masaimasoni: – October 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"First of all the location was epic, immersed in nature and the human impact barely visible. The staff was very professional and kind delivering a perfect service during the entire stay. We especially enjoyed our guided tours and drives with Shaun, he was so passionate about his work and prepared to answer all our questions and curiosities. Overall one of the best experiences I've had while traveling and being at the end of our trip in South Africa was the cherry on top of a great trip. Definitely coming back next time I'll be in South Africa and it won't be too far into the future."

Lynnette V Christians: – September 2019 (Google)

"It is a private nature reserve offering variety of activities, catering for young and not so young. Spa treatments, night drives, sundowner drives, quad biking, hiking, swimming, camping, historical value and interest. Perfect for the city dweller looking for absolute tranquillity and peace in the surrounding environment. Stargazing in exquisite surroundings with expert guides. The most amazing Heritage Day 2019, set up at the pool area. The house keeping staff, restaurant staff, with Marshalino and Kevin ever professional, friendly, helpful and advising amazing recommendations with regards to meals and drinks. The vibe is laid back and one is made to feel special without being pressured or hurried. The crackling fire, delicious food, drinks and staff made the evening so comfy, we didn't want to leave. The drive there is breathtakingly beautiful. Kagga Kamma is our family tradition. My children, now adults, constantly ask to return. Which we do. Thank you Kagga Kamma for years of special memories and unforgettable experiences. Chantel, Jo-Brie, Marshalino, Kevin, Abrian, Garrick and all staff - we'll be back. "

Ancoise Venter: – September 2019 (Google)

"What a fantastic experience, the most beautiful place in the world. Best service very good food and the receptionist Jo-Brie is a great benefit for the place with his friendliness and helpful personality."

Hennie Kleynhans: – September 2019 (Google)

"Vriendelike personeel, puik akkomodasie en pragtige natuur. Plek vir siele rus."

CEM5: – September 2019 (Booking.com)

"The MOST awesome place I have ever stayed! 5 Star Service. Fabulous Cave rooms and so, so quiet. I can highly recommend this as a night away. The tour of the Cave paintings was great too. Good for one night as there is not a lot to do. I did use the Spa which was magnificent and also deserving of a 5-star rating!"

Lindiwe Phecheni: – September 2019 (Booking.com)

"The place was amazing, perfect location, quality services. I loved the fact that there were no phones in the cave. It was a perfect conductive space for relaxation and everything was eco-friendly. Warm experience from the reception & Salon (Nadia's hot stones) were awesome, but from the restaurant the Springbok Potjie was lit. Also got souvenirs at a reasonable price from the gift store. Would love to go back any day. This is now my favourite place in the whole country."

Hannes & Karla Brand: – September 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"The absolute silence creates a buzz in your ears if you are not use to it, but it is absolutely amazing. The food at the restaurant is very delicious and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hot stone massage at the spa is a must and the sun downer game drive is just amazing! Thank you Kagga Kamma, we really enjoyed our stay and for spoiling us all the way!"

Jhbpierrelr: – August 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"We spent a weekend in Kagga Kamma with friends and had the most amazing time. The remote location ensures peace and a complete break from the noise and distractions of city living. The star gazing is unbelievable and the topography is rugged and beautiful. The staff are among the friendliest and most attentive staff we have ever had. Kagga Kamma is a hidden gem that will ensure you have a relaxing break away. We were very impressed!"

Chanelle Adams: – August 2019 (Facebook)

"Spent this past weekend at Kagga Kamma, and I must say I am blown away by its breath-taking beauty. The staff went out if their way to make us feel so welcome and catered to all our needs. The chalets were beautiful. Looking forward to our next stay."

Craig: – August 2019 (Booking.com)

"Fantastic views and outdoor experience. Great to switch-off and unwind (no cellphone coverage but Wi-Fi in main building"

traywhitfield: – August 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"What an amazing stay we had at Kagga Kamma. Both my partner and I had such an amazing time spent there and left feeling so rejuvenated. An absolute bargain in value for money. The quad biking safari was such an adventure as well as walking the trails looking for rock art, followed by a relaxing spa treatment. The staff could not have been friendlier and helpful, and made us feel like valued guests. Thank you Kagga Kamma for giving us so many memories, we'll definitely be back for the rock art tour, mountain biking and stargazing!"

bjackson2019: – July 2019 (TripAdvisor)

"A once in a lifetime experience. One that cannot be matched. From spectacular customer service to meals! Your staff are top shelf quality! Your venue is breath-taking. We cannot say thank you enough for everything."

Eloise: – July 2019 (Booking.com)

"Everything was just OUTSTANDING! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in a cave suite and it just exceeded our expectations. We loved everything about Kagga Kamma and will definitely go back. I can HIGHLY recommend this property!!!!"

tidnoisalee: – July 2019 (TripAdvisor)

"Amazing resources wonderful architecture excellent service beautiful environments spectacular location we can see the illusion of the big cities from the distance but when we come closer all of what we saw just the huge stones. The facilities in this resort utilities solar cells for heating in winter for air-condition in summer and we went to the residence of the ancient people and learned from the 6000 years paintings that how they lived and what they believed."

Fredalaine Harmse: – July 2019 (Facebook)

"If you need to get away from the rush, work and even social media, then this is the place to go!! It was just lovely to reconnect as a family and get away from everything that distracts us from what is actually important. Children learn to play again - keeping themselves busy, and the beauty that you see around you every day, makes you appreciate our Mother Earth even more. We were treated like royalty by the wonderful staff, and we will definitely be back in future!!!"

AndrewBourneSA: – July 2019 (Booking.com)

"The cave was a really nice experience, the food was amazing, and the staff incredible. We really enjoyed the activities, especially the quad bike tour, rock art tour, and sundowner tour."

Annettee81: – July 2019 (TripAdvisor)

"If you are planning a honey moon, retreat or just a getaway, Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve is the place to go. Just getting there - on dirt roads through the mountains - makes you feel you are away from the hustle and bustle of the world. The accommodation - be it in a rock cave, or a thatched roofed hut is gorgeous. Every room has at least 180 degree views or more, game drives, night drives and safari to San/Bushman paintings is offered on arrival. The food is delicious and staff are very friendly."

Judith Grove: – June 2019 (Google)

"Beautiful trails to explore safely, on foot or by bicycle. Lovely restaurant with great food and exceptionally friendly waiters! Comfortable, relaxing pub area with television for sports enthusiasts!"

Emihle Potwana: – June 2019 (Google)

"It has amazing service, everyone is welcoming and kind. I recommend you to choose Kagga Kamma if you want to be in a natural environment and if you want peace."

904jo: – June 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"I have been to plenty of VRS resorts in all the provinces but realised from the first second of walking into the reception why Kagga Kamma has won so many awards. I was greeted by Chantal, the friendliest helpful front desk person I have ever met. She went out of her way to make sure our stay was A+. All the staff were friendly, ALWAYS. And we could see it wasn't a fake friendly. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel like we were the only people there. Kagga Kamma is a different type of holiday. It is a place where you go to when you really just want to relax, away from everything in the most unique Karoo setting. It is beautiful, the rocks, the veld, everything! Greatest place. I am going back in July... Nuff said! A word of advice, eat their giant burger, you won't regret it!"

Hanneke Koen: – June 2019 (Email)

"I would just like to drop you a note to thank you for your friendly and professional manner you have welcomed us at Kagga Kamma. We had such a good weekend from Housekeeing straight through to the game drive, lunch at the bar and every single meal were enjoyed!! The passion and friendliness of the staff are memorable, we will definitely recommend Kagga Kamma to our friends, family and colleagues."

Teresa Southgate: – May 2019 (Google)

"What a beautiful place for some well-deserved R&R. Stargazing at night and the beautiful chalets and rooms built into the rocks is a must see and definitely has to be experienced."

Annelie: – May 2019 (Booking.com)

"Beautiful area. Delicious food. Extremely friendly staff."

Margaret: – May 2019 (Booking.com)

"Comfortable, well appointed "caves", friendly, helpful and efficient staff and a splendid location. Great 4x4 trips to view wild life and rock paintings with very knowledgeable guides."

Seaside57715129512: – May 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"Excellent place. Truly the benchmark for a family holiday. Simply awesome staff and amazing hiking. We loved our stay and look forward to our next visits. The star gazing is simply top quality. The kids even forgot about their devices when faced with the majesty of the evenings."

lindabB833GM: – May 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"Excellent accommodation in self-catering house. Lovely 4 km walk, well-signposted and enough of a challenge to keep you interested, but doable for sixty somethings. A must visit site! The restaurant staff were able to help us with a meal when cold weather caught up with us. The waiters were exceptionally helpful and friendly, and the pizza was tasty."

Annette E Sullivan: – April 2019 (Expedia)

"Kagga Kamma is situated in the most breath-taking environment. There are not enough adjectives to describe the landscape. Staff are very friendly and Jason the qualified tour guide is very knowledgeable and sensitive to the history of original inhabitants, animals and plants of the area. The drive up from Tulbagh was wonderful experience and the drive on the 40km dirt road just added to the experience with many photo opportunities along the way. The accommodation is very comfortable regardless if you stay in a cave suite or hut. We peeked into number 2 and would book it next time as it has a bath."

Linda Henning: – April 2019 (Google)

"Unique setting, beautiful rock formations, beautifully appointed rooms in the caves. Even two rooms under a big rock outside. You have no idea how stunning it was. We saw it during the day. And at night, sleeping in a luxurious bed under the stars, we had wild animals around our chalet. The chalets were also nicely appointed and had everything you could need in a kitchen for a weekend away. The staff were all exceptionally helpful and friendly. A super break."

MariusB1604: – April 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"We booked on a weekend in middle winter. It is a very scenic route to the nature reserve and you soak in all the untouched splendour of nature. We stayed in the caves and found this an unique experience like no other. The fact that there is no TV or any form of signal (cell phones, data etc.) made it so much more memorable. (Peace and tranquillity) The food is excellent and the staff well trained and professional. There is some signal around the bar and restaurant area if you need to contact the outside world. There is two great pools in the facility for the summer months and different options to see the area by means of guided tours. We sat on our stoep and watched the perfect sunset and then took a stroll along the path for Dinner. You do not have to drive anywhere if you stay in the Caves or huts. The reserve itself is spectacular and unique and whether you want to relax and do nothing or ride all over on your bicycle or 4x4 vehicle it works for everyone. I would recommend this to anyone who has not been in the Tankwa Karoo."

Anonymous: – March 2019 (Expedia)

"Very remote and that is what makes this beautiful retreat even more special. The food is great too and dining at the fire and under the stars is one of the best places I have ever enjoyed dinner. We will definitely return!"

Bridgette Cyster: – March 2019 (Email)

"Wow Wow Wow Wow What an awesome time we had at the Nature Reserve, from the very first time we entered the gates. The lady at the receptionist desk, it's as if she was cut out for that role. I believe her name is Chantal, what an awesome friendly, helpful and just brilliant lady, she is a real asset to the company. I also what to thank Neil, Nita and Pedro for job's well done. Don't forget your snake man, what a friendly man. Great time I had. Because of such great service I will definitely visit The Nature Reserve again. "

Pieter, Sonskyn, Roxane en Zante Wallis: – February 2019 (Email)

"Dankie nogmaals vir 'n great bederf die week van kerstyd! Julle het ons so laat tuis voel en ons het regtig baie lekker gekuier! Daar was niks te kort nie! Van die bederfies tot die laaste dag was net te lekker! Dit is so jammer dat julle so ver van ons af is anders het ons defnitief gereeld daar uit gehang! Julle is 'n wonderlike span! O'ja en dankie vir die heerlike bottle wyn ons het dit die naweek geniet."

Fearless31326546304: – January 2019 (Tripadvisor)

"Absolutely amazing place with wonderful friendly staff. We stayed one night in the Sky Suite and one in the Star Suite. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. Good food and facilities, well maintained and clean."

René: – January 2019 (Hotels.com)

"Absolutely marvellous! The hut, the surroundings, food, service and the pool were all truly amazing. Sam and Anja held the San Art tour and we learned a lot about the Fynbos, the animals living there and San and Khoi people. Best place we visited in South Africa, thank you for making a childhood memory for our kids."

Hassiem Albertus: – January 2019 (Google)

"One of my best experiences getting in touch with nature."

2018 Testimonials
2017 Testimonials
2016 Testimonials
2015 Testimonials
2014 Testimonials

LOCAL WEATHER