{ A wondrous encounter with the natural world... }

Kagga Kamma Guests   |   REVIEWS

Guest Reviews

Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve takes to heart all guest feedback as we strive to provide the best possible holiday experience for each guest. The reviews included below are only a curated selection of reviews, but our overall review rating calculated on the merit of all reviews received on a range of platforms.

“We stayed in the self-catering cottage which had everything that we needed - from an outdoor braai, fireplace (we didn't use since it was summer), well-equipped kitchen and surprise Christmas jar of cookies which the kids loved. Service at the restaurant was amazing at the outdoor boma and our stargazing guide was knowledgeable. The view of the rocks was breath-taking and made a good hike for us all. ”

Woon Peng Ziady – February 2021 (Google)

“We visited this supreme destination for our 31st wedding anniversary. I cannot praise the whole process enough - from booking to checkout. The Sky Suite is an absolute must do as nothing compares to this experience. The guides are patient and knowledgeable. Food is tasty and very well priced. See you again - hopefully very soon! ”

Jpkoei – February 2021 (TripAdvisor)

“Best experience we have ever had anywhere. Super friendly and helpful staff, from the gentleman at the entrance gate to the ladies cleaning the rooms. Too many names to mention. Food was superb 👌. Will recommend to everyone I know and will come back. ”

Thinus S – February 2021 (TripAdvisor)

“We eloped to Kagga Kamma and had the best experience ever! The most amazing scenery and best staff made our stay something to experience. Definitely a must see!! We can recommend this stunning place to anyone! ”

Nadinerudman – January 2021 (TripAdvisor)

“Our stay at Kagga Kamma was perfect. The entire team was so kind, helpful and willing to assist me in setting up the perfect proposal. We had the best time, from staying in the Star Suite (HIGHLY recommended) to our Hut. The food was delicious; compliments to the chef again. All-in-all, one of the best places I have stayed in. The views are spectacular and it’s a perfect place to be present and in nature, with a sky full of stars. ”

richstewsa – January 2021 (TripAdvisor)

“Proposed to my fiancé at the beautiful Sky Suite this week. The experience was nothing under perfect! The management and staff were incredibly supportive through the nerve-wrecking experience and the whole proposal played out perfectly. We felt special and our needs were catered to without question by all staff that did everything they could to make us happy. A shout out to Shaun who led the whole secret proposal and despite my nerves - it was still a surprise to her! Great place, great food, great staff and really a great experience! ”

Sheldon Willemse – December 2020 (Google)

“We had the best time and the service and hospitality was the best that we ever received. Kagga Kamma is the place to be for any special occasion and is worth every cent. The food at Kagga Kamma is out of this world and is freshly prepared with every meal. The Open Air Suite was a life experience and is a must for any couple. ”

leendertmentz – December 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“We stayed here again now - the first time was last year in winter and now this time it was in spring. Everything about the place is everything you'd need. The space, the stars, the accommodating staff, the well-appointed Hut, the generous meals, the relaxed ambience, the outings. It is all so much more than you expect. I can't give away more - go see for yourself... ”

Departure42099143856 – December 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“The images and texts on the website do not do justice to the amazing experience on the ground. I am a frequent traveller within the Western Cape, and this is surely one of my top recommendations. Needless to talk about the landscape and the pristine silence and beauty; the real deal for us was the service. What will take us back to Kagga Kamma is the service. Thank you, Kagga Kamma!”

YMZA1 – December 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“Visited in February 2020 and we really enjoyed our stay. The manager and staff made us feel very welcome and were very attentive to our needs. The food was amazing. The decor in the room was beautiful. Will certainly return.”

Lu St – December 2020

“We stayed in the Self-Catering Chalet and loved every minute. It was the third time that we visited the establishment and it remains one of our favourite places. This time we upgraded one evening's accommodation to the Star Suite to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. It was an amazing experience and one of my all-time highlights. The Open Air Suite exceeded all our expectations. We loved the natural rock pool, the fire place, the comfortable bed, the wonderful setting of the outdoor shower and bath, the bath robes, the sunset, the spectacular view and the stars. The stars felt so close and were absolutely breath-taking. This was a bucket list experience.”

Laetitia_coetzee1 – November 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“My fiancé and I had an amazing engagement at Kagga Kamma. Excellent service, excellent food and excellent value for money. If I had to do it all again, I would stick with them as my venue. Thanks to the entire team for the outstanding effort.”

Alex_Stevens91 – November 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“Truly a unique experience in the Cederberg region of the Western Cape. Beautiful night stargazing, daytime game-viewing, or just lazing next to the pool.”

Willi von Borstel – November 2020 (Google)

“Spending the night at Kagga Kamma in a ‘Cave Suite’ set amongst the most spectacular rock formations. Accommodation options include "Cave" Suites, the Open Air Star and Sky Suites and very spacious thatched Huts. The Reserve is also home to some great examples of rock art. Quad biking and self-drive 4x4 experiences available if you have your own vehicle. This is escapism at its best!”

Gallivant_with_G – October 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“The place is so amazing! The beauty is out of this world. The experience is at the highest level. This place makes you appreciate nature so much. It is so gorgeous! I will recommend this place to anyone. The treatment and friendship from the staff is super excellent.”

gumedesicelo – October 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“Loved it; the whole experience. Definitely worth the money spent. The scenery was breath-taking. Stayed in a ‘Cave’ which we loved. It was so clean and comfortable. Staff, especially the manageress, were extremely friendly and helpful. All the amenities and activities offered, which are numerous, we thoroughly enjoyed. We will definitely return. Well done guys.”

john32429 – October 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“Excellent service, pristine environment, hikes unique (especially the 4km). Food to die for, ‘Cave’ Suites an experience with amazing views... All-in-all so worth it.”

Charlene Parsons – October 2020 (Google)

“We really enjoyed our visit and the scenery is breath-taking. We enjoyed the food. The staff and manager were very helpful and attentive. The nature drive was very informative. Will certainly return and recommend.”

James32429 – September 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“We had the time of our lives; I would highly recommend Kagga Kamma to anyone who appreciates natural, unspoilt beauty! The best place I have ever visited within our own borders. They give 'service excellence with a smile' a whole new meaning!”

andremarshall2020 – September 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“We loved our stay at Kagga Kamma. Staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. This spot has plenty to offer, especially for nature lovers and kids. What we also appreciated is that they really make you feel safe in regards to COVID -19: hygiene and mask wearing is taken very seriously by the staff. Would definitely recommend!”

Rozanne de Vries – September 2020 (Google)

“A really, really cool place literally in the middle of nowhere. The 35km gravel road leads you through a fantastic pass with great views and past a lot of really interesting rock formations - you won’t get bored along the way. Once there, the extremely friendly staff is happy to assist you in whatever way needed. The views are just breath-taking and I enjoyed the absolute silence here. Please do yourself a favour and book a Guided Stargazing Tour in the evening - the stars are absolutely amazing; if the moon is not there and the skies are clear. Loved it, will definitely be back!”

Weltenbummlerin06 – August 2020 (TripAdvisor)

“Overall, we had a very enjoyable and pleasant stay. Not once did we feel unsafe or insecure because of COVID-19 where the Lodge applied strict control measures without constraining freedom of movement. The staff could not do enough for us; the accommodation was great, as well as the food at the Restaurant.”

Patb2105 – August 2020 (TripAdvisor)

"I read the positive reviews about the service from the staff before going and can truly confirm that we received excellent service! Spa treatment was superb! Accommodation was clean & comfortable. Perfect place to cut off from the hustle & bustle & recharge!"

Celeste Jaftha Vermaak – August 2020 (Facebook)

"We went there with friends with one thing in mind: rest. We arrived on Tuesday and went for a drive, saw Eland, Springbok, Zebra, Steen Bokkies and Baboons. Wednesday and Thursday we enjoyed the quiet and peace on the stoep and Thursday in the bar area in front of the fireplace. We felt special and were treated with so much care and love. The food was excellent, and we were extremely satisfied after every meal."

Amanda B – July 2020 (TripAdvisor)

"We have booked our clients with Kagga Kamma for many years. All our clients have raved about their experiences and it is why we continue to secure bookings with this operator. As a booking agent, their client service and quality of experience gives us peace of mind and it's why we love working alongside them so much. Highly recommended and guaranteed special memories to last a lifetime. With so much gratitude for how well you treat our precious clients."

Odette Ste Jeanne Butche – June 2020 (Facebook)

"My husband and I eloped to Kagga Kamma and had the most wonderful experience. The place is rugged, yet so beautiful and peaceful. The staff go out of their way to make you feel so special and to make your trip memorable. The food is delicious, the rooms are perfect, the staff are incredible and the guides are knowledgeable and fun! There are various activities to do while you're there, but you can also relax by the pool quite happily. We went in March and it was pretty hot - 33-36 degrees most days, however the rooms are air-conditioned. Kagga Kamma is a unique place and definitely worth a visit."

271bridgetw – May 2020 (TripAdvisor)

"Friendly staff. Manager was extremely helpful and professional; really made me feel welcome. I stayed in the Cave Suite which was an amazing experience. I really enjoyed the Guided Tours. Food and amenities were all first class."

S B – April 2020 (Google)

"The visit at Kagga Kamma was a birthday present for my husband. He and I enjoyed the stay very much. Accommodation very good, food good, boma with fire good. The drive to the Khoisan paintings was enjoyable and our own 2.5 hour hike early one morning through the fantastic rock formations was great. Last but not least the friendly personnel are much appreciated. Hope many visitors will come and have a wonderful time at your Lodge."

Angelikaizbull– March 2020 (TripAdvisor)

"We spent two nights here in early February and what an unforgettable experience it was! We enjoyed every minute but particularly our night in the Sky Suite. The spectacular sundowners during the storm that passed over on the Saturday evening were an added bonus. A beautiful setting! Probably the most amazing few days ever!"

Andrew – February 2020 (Tripadvisor)

"Thank you to the staff at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve. You made our holiday unforgettable. Your fast, friendly and professional service is much appreciated. The Guided Tours were exceptional, interesting and informative. Proudly South African."

Julia – February 2020 (Tripadvisor)

"An opportunity to get in touch with nature with little effort. The fauna, flora, amazing geological surroundings, ancient rock art (2000 odd years old) and stunning setting for stargazing. Takes you back to your basic roots."

Marius Ackermann – February 2020 (Facebook)

"This place feels like it comes out of a fairy-tale, The staff are incredible beyond words. Does not matter if you are camping or lodging, everyone gets treated amazingly. The location is picturesque; the night sky is beyond words."

Clair – January 2020 (Google)

"In the middle of the desert and a fairly arid (and beautiful) landscape, Kagga Kamma offers a lovely respite. The staff are lovely. They go to a lot of trouble to make you feel comfortable. The veld drives are great. Food is good. Beers are cold. The views are stunning. This is a must."

Leon – January 2020 (Tripadvisor)

"We booked one of the Open Air Suites at Kagga Kamma and it was an unforgettable experience. We spent the most romantic evening under the stars, but surrounded by comfort and natural beauty. A definite bucket-list stay for any adventurous and romantic couple."

Chantel – January 2020 (Tripadvisor)